The Neutral Candidate Who Must Win This Year’s Election

The Neutral Candidate Who Must Win This Year’s Election

We all know the twelve candidates canvassing for votes in the 2020 elections. But do you know that neutral candidate who has been campaigning to rule this country since 1992?
Many may know about him but few ever give him the attention. Many campaign for him through word of mouth but few show loyalty through their actions.

In every election, it seems he goes through “difficulty” to get to the finish line; the process he goes through to get to the finish line is often an eyesore but proudly he makes it to the finish line.

At this point, you may be wondering, who is this “neutral candidate” is.

The neutral candidate

Let me describe him by stating that he is the one with the interests of the youths at heart. He is the one who hates to see bloodshed. He is the one who smiles when supporters of the different parties unite.

He has a short name but a huge impact in elections. The neutral candidate is named PEACE !

It has been observed that the youth “pull Peace by the shirt” as they engage in election violence. Some people believe they really have a good motive to engage in electoral violence.

For example, a survey conducted in 2016 revealed unemployment, poverty, weak security, poor self-discipline, coercion and manipulation by politicians as some the cause of election violence.

But let’s pause and think about this. Will all these problems be solved if people engaged in election violence? Should these really be motivations to engage in electoral violence?

See, if neutral candidate wins, we can rest assured that the future will be bright. Think of the many youth who will come out of the election in one piece. Reflect of the heritage of solidarity we will pass on to our children. Also, think of how no media house will have the headline: “Millions of youth killed in election violence”.

Yes, you guessed right! It will be a blissful imagination translated into reality.

We see or hear of no candidate if PEACE does not make it to the finish line.

Related: My Take On Tomorrow’s District Assembly Election

How the candidates would be placed on the ballot paper

  1. NPP – Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo of the New Patriotic Party
  2. NDC – John Dramani Mahama of the National Democratic Congress
  3. GUM – Christian Kwabena Andrews of the Ghana Union Movement
  4. CPP – Ivor Kobina Greenstreet of the Convention People’s Party
  5. GFP – Madam Akua Donkor of the Ghana Freedom Party
  6. GCPP – Henry Herbert Lartey of the Great Consolidated Popular Party
  7. APC – Hassan Ayariga of the All People’s Congress
  8. LPG – Kofi Akpaloo of the Liberal Party of Ghana
  9. PNC – David Apasera of the People’s National Convention
  10. PPP – Brigitte Dzogbenuku of the Progressive People’s Party
  11. NDP – Nana Konadu Agyeman-Rawlings of the National Democratic Party
  12. Independent candidate – Asiedu Walker

The voting process

Ghana employs a series of processes in ensuring transparency, fairness and credibility of the polls. The main elements include use of ballot papers, biometric verification processes, a secret ballot and transparent ballot boxes. Here is a step by step guide on what to do at the polling station Election Day.

  1. Go to the Polling Station with your Voter ID card and join the queue if any. Please don’t jump the queue.
  2. A polling assistant will check your particulars in the name reference list.
  3. A verification officer will verify your identity as a registered voter, which involves placing their finger on a biometric verification device (BVD).
  4. If the verification machine fails to recognise your details, there is room for a manual process.
  5. You will be issued with a Presidential Ballot paper. The ballot papers are foldable sheets of paper bearing details of each candidate. It has three slots per candidate – the photo, the party’s symbol and a space for the thumbprint mark. Please check to see if it has no marks on it. Also, ensure it has the validating stamp.
  6. Make your way to the Voting Booth and thumbprint (correctly) your candidate of choice.
  7. Cast your vote in the Presidential Ballot Box (transparent box set in the open). Make sure it is the right box.
  8. Proceed to the next Polling Assistant for the Parliamentary Ballot Paper.
  9. Proceed to the Parliamentary Voting Booth and thumbprint (correctly) your choice of Member of Parliament (MP).
  10. Cast your ballot in the Parliamentary Ballot Box (transparent box set in the open). Make sure it is the correct box.
  11. Please leave the Polling Station after voting. You can return at 5 pm for the count.

NB: Please observe all COVID-19 protocols and stay safe.

Facebook Comments

Most Popular

To Top